Rockport Legion Band Featured on “Brasscast”

Peter Ryan and Lucas Burns, hosts of the international band podcast “Brasscast”, have selected the Rockport Legion Band to be featured on their program of September 6, 2009.

The program will feature five tracks from the RLB’s CD “We Are The Rockport Legion Band” plus an interview that will give listeners an brief overview of the band. The musical examples are:

Duble: Galop Zip Boom

Sousa: Belle of Chicago March

Allen: General Mixup, U.S.A.

Lampe/Park: Watermelon Club Rag

Lowrey: Prince of Decorah Galop

We are, of course, thrilled to be recognized and featured on such a widely-heard program. Peter tells me that they have over 40,000 listeners worldwide! Not bad for a little band from the edge of the world.

“Brasscast” has, unfortunately, ceased to exist (like many Internet enterprises), so the program is now available by clicking on the “RLB on Brasscast” link to our media player (Jukebox Alive!) in the right hand column.


Looking For Band Music in PDF?

Recently, there have been Internet searches that have arrived here, looking for specific pieces of music. If you have entered a title search for a piece of music and were directed here, please search our “Previous Concert Program” files. Unfortunately, there are no downloads or recordings of the music available. Some of the pieces in our previous programs are available free from the Band Music PDF Library. There is a link to them in our blog roll to your right.

Please check out this marvelous resource — there may be something there that you’ll find interesting. The library contains only music that is in the public domain here in the United States.

New CD Now Available By Mail!

The Rockport Legion Band wishes to announce the completion of its new CD; the public release date is June 1, 2011. However, they are currently available by mail. You can obtain an advance copy by sending a donation in the form of a check or money order for $14.00 (which covers all handling and postage) to the following address:

The Rockport Legion Band
c/o Bob Rudolph, Treasurer
24 Bass Avenue
Gloucester, MA 01930

We would to thank Phyllis Kaplan for her kind permission to use a painting by her late husband Henry as the basis for the disc’s cover. The painting depicts one of Rockport’s annual traditions — the Firemen’s (sic) Parade and Bonfire on July 4th. There is a link to the Kaplan Gallery in the band blog roll to the right of this page — please visit them.

The CD contains 16 tracks of marches and other music from the band’s current repertoire. There are some teaser tracks now posted on Jukebox Alive! which is linked in the column to your right.

If you would like to subscribe to future postings, please click on the “e-mail subscriptions” link at the bottom of the right hand column.

Track listing for “Parade!”

1. The Avenger March (King)
2. The Iowa Brigade Band (Jewell)
3. Monia — Marcia (Soglia)
4. On The Square (Panella)
5. Merry-Go-Round Galop (Rosenkrans)
6. Old 98: In memorium R.E. Puff (Thomas)
7. Radetzky March (Strauss)
8. Admiral Mayo’s March (Rosenkrans)
9. Erba — Marcia (Soglia)
10. The Hoosier Club March (Sack)
11. The Baltimore American (Burton)
12. Il Cinghiale — Marcia (Soglia)
13. The Hippodrome (Huff)
14. The Mad Major (Alford)
15. Visalia Galop (Richards)
16. Gollmar Brothers’ (sic) Triumphal (Huffer)